The least of these this Christmas

lises-seven-grandchildrenTruly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” (Matt 25:40)

This video article by The Economist caught my eye this week for obvious reasons. In the run up to Christmas – which so many of us in the West use as an excuse to over-consume – this video is a shocking reminder of the reality of life for so many of our brothers and sisters arround the globe and the complexity of issues involved.

I followed up on the World Bank measure referenced in the video, of poverty defined at $1.25 per day. Of the countries with data available, Malawi has the third highest proportion of its population living on less than $1.25 a day: 72% (2010, ref). Only Zambia and Madagascar had higher. And 90% (ref) live on less than $2 a day. No surprise then that Malawi is classified as one of the world’s poorest countries in teh world, ranking 160th out of 182 countries on the Human Development Index.

For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.” (Matt 25:42,43)

 

 

Leave a Reply

